A qualifying event for the BAFTAs and the Academy Awards, the Leeds Short Film Awards celebrates the short film form in all its glory, with discoveries from around the world, across the UK and here in Yorkshire. We are thrilled to announce the winners in each short film award category. All the winners can be watched together in one programme on Leeds Film Player until 17th November. We want to say a huge thank you to our short film jurors, find out more about them here.

British Short Film Competition
Jury: Isra Al Kassi, Mitch Kalisa, Erifili Missiou
Winner: The Bayview by Daniel Cook 
Special Mention: Look for the Diamonds by James Slater 
Jury Statement on Special Mention: We would like to make a special mention to “Look For The Diamonds” by James Slater. Joel, who is portrayed, moved us and inspired us with the grit, determination and life affirming humour, as he deals with a serious health condition. The film is also inventive cinematically, employing creative ways to tell the story and taking some risks with the form. Finally, “Look For The Diamonds”, is never exploitive to the main character - it is clearly a labour of love.
Jury Statement on Winner: An unravelling and warm capture of a family’s firm dedication to serve as a sanctuary to fishermen from all over the world. Cook portrays, both those fixed firmly in Bayview and those passing through with warmth and sincerity without ever overexposing the individuals or taking them for granted. The jury selected the film for its considered portrayal and stunning camera work instilling hope, patience and joy in the audience.

Leeds International Short Film Competition
Jury: Amayel Ndiaye, Natalia Sinelnikova, Carmen Thompson
Winner: The Voice Actress by Anna J. Takayama (Japan)
Special Mention: Blue Note by Pavel Andonov (Finland)
Jury Statement on Special Mention: This director captures a truthfulness and clarity in one of life’s most unimaginable moments. A beautifully-crafted and poetic tribute to love and the inevitability of life, that will remain with us. We were all deeply moved by Blue Note, which clearly establishes Pavel Andonov as an exciting new directorial voice
Jury Statement on Winner: Bold and delightfully original. A playful, tender and universal story about remaining unapologetically yourself in a relentless world, from a director with a refreshingly unique cinematic language. From the pacing to the use of colour, from the framing to the lead performance, Anna J. Takayama's The Voice Actress is a vibrant, feminist gem of a film.

Leeds Music Video Competition
Jury: Hannah Broadbent, Theo Gowans, DJ NikNak
Winner: JNKYRD. JNKYRD ft. Ohhyuk by Gyuri Cloe Lee (South Korea)
Special Mentions: Buen Camino. A New Day by Sebastian Juszczyk (Poland) and Leon Bridges & Khruangbin. Chocolate Hills. by Cody Buche, Travis Barron (USA)
Jury Statement on Winner: JNKYRD was consistent, full of ideas, really creative and bold, and everything fit the music really well. The pinball part was a particularly impressive bit of animation that worked with the piano improvisation in the track.

Leeds Queer Short Film Competition
Jury: Philippa Walusimbi, Tobi Kyeremateng, Pete Cann
Winner: Punch Line by Becky Cheatle (Ireland)
Special Mentions: Supreme by Youssef Youssef (Switzerland) and The Magentalman and The Gentlemint by James Crang (United Kingdom) 
Jury Statement on Special Mentions:  Supreme invited us into this world without being condemned whilst highlighting the wins and the risks of being a part of this community.
The Magentalman and The Gentlemint is a heart-warming film that cleverly uses colour and animation to bring two people together.
Jury Statement on Winner: A deft blend of tragedy and comedy, highlighting those two things as often deeply interwoven with great pathos and nuance.

Screendance Short Film Competition
Jury: Ariadne Mikou, Kyra Norman, Ada Solomon
Winner: Fragility of Language by Nefeli Kentoni (Cyprus, United Kingdom)
Special Mention: amser/time by Deborah Light (United Kingdom) and A Drifting Up by Jacob Lee (United Kingdom)
Jury Statement on Special Mentions: This year, we unanimously agreed to give a joint Special Mention to two works that, together with the Fragility of Language, frame some of today's urgent issues: ecological crisis and mental health. For this reason, we wish to equally acknowledge amser/time by Deborah Light and Jacob Lee’s Drifting Up. In amser/time, the dialogue between body and screen creates powerful poetic images that sensitise us ecologically and historically. With Drifting Up, we recognise the importance, within screendance as a field, of process-led enquiry and the role of dance and screen media to embrace uncertainty.  With this joint Special Commendation, we wish to celebrate these artists, at different career stages, as they follow their curiosity about 'their place in the family of things' (to cite Mary Oliver, as Jacob Lee does).
Jury Statement on Winner: Fragility of Language playfully merges text and moving-image while recalling the historical lineage of dance film in silent movies. Funny, fresh and unusual, it reflects on the interdependence of language, cultural identity and memory, making a strong statement about disappearing oral traditions and the lack of freedom of speech and expression. It further raises awareness about (in)visible forms of imperialism, censorship and forced silence, and it invites us to reflect on the status of women in contemporary society. With minimal means and framed by a well-crafted music composition, it is a thought-provoking work that leaves a lasting impact on the viewer.

World Animation Competition
Jury: Phoebe Boswell, Dominica Harrison, Lauren Orme.
Winner: Steakhouse by Špela Čadež (Slovenia, France, Germany)
Special Mentions: It’s Nice in Here by Robert-Jonathan Koeyers and Zoon by Jonatan Schwenk (Germany)
Jury Statement on Special Mentions: While we found (It's Nice in Here's) empathetic focus of the film problematic, we wanted to recognise it for the relevance of its subject matter, its writing, the importance of animation in conveying the controversy of memory, and its tender holding of the character of the young girl who had to watch her friend be murdered by police.
Zoon - A joyous and idiosyncratic film that gave us a tantalising glimpse into an enchanted world inhabited by carnivorous humanoids thirsty for the blood of axolotls. With delightful sound design and surreal comedy, it was a vibe from start to finish.
Jury Statement on Winner: A powerful film that took remarkable risks in both form and content. Dramatically paced, with engaging sound design and a style that deeply embodied the story, it drew us into its sensorial world and impacted us viscerally. The film addresses an important topic in a way that was both unexpected and mesmerising.

Yorkshire Short Film Competition
Jury: Isra Al Kassi, Mitch Kalisa, Erifili Missiou
Winner: Robin by Tristan Shepherd
Special Mentions: Hope You Fail by Alison Grasso
Jury Statement on Special Mention: Our special mention goes to ‘Hope You Fail’. Rich Myer’s story is engrossing and heartwarming. The filmmaker deftly captures his infectious spirit and also manages to tell a charming and ultimately triumphant story about an individual fulfilling their dreams against the odds.
Jury Statement on Winner: A convincing portrayal of an unlikely friendship that flourishes in a Care Home. Very well acted and sensitive in its approach, Tristan Sheperd thoroughly deserves the Yorkshire award for his directing, camera work and representing nuanced characters and relationships.