Final submissions deadline is 31st July 2018

Leeds International Film Festival is now welcoming submissions for its 32nd edition which will run from 1st to 15th November 2018. A qualifying film festival for both the Academy Awards and BAFTAs, LIFF presents an extensive and diverse programme of discovery that celebrates the achievements of new and established talent from around the world.

You can enter your film to LIFF 2018 using either Withoutabox or FilmFreeway, where you can find full information. You only need to enter your film into one category: if your film is eligible for other categories it will still be considered for them by the programme selectors. The deadlines for submissions are: earlybird 30th March 2018, regular 2nd July 2018, and final 31st July 2018.

In 2017 LIFF received over 5000 feature and short film submissions from 101 countries for its six programme sections which include: Official Selection for new narrative features; Cinema Versa for documentary features and shorts; Fanomenon for genre / fantasic features and shorts; and Leeds Short Film Awards, with seven competition categories and over $5000 in cash prizes.

You can see the full LIFF 2017 programme on this website by viewing the LIFF 2017 Catalogue.

Leeds Short Film Awards Winners 2017

Louis le Prince: International Short Film Competition
Winner: Copa-Loca by Christos Massalas (Greece)

World Animation Competition
Winner: Wicked Girl by Ayce Kartal (France, Turkey)

British Short Film Competition
Winner: The Dog and the Elephant by Michael Sharpe (UK)

Yorkshire Short Film Competition
Winner: Stan by Ben G. Brown 

Leeds International Screendance Competition
Winner: Through the Supermarket in Five Easy Pieces by Anna-Maria Hutri (Finland)

Leeds International Music Video Competition
Winner: No Reason by Bonobo - Oscar Hudson (UK)

Leeds Short Film Audience Award
Winner: Wave by Benjamin Cleary and TJ O'Grady Peyton (Ireland)

Fanomenon Short Film Awards 2017

Dark Owls International Short Film Competition
Winner: Clanker Man by Ben Steiner (UK)

Dead Shorts
Winner: Spooked by Emma Spook and Gil Gloom (France)

Sci-Fi Shorts
Winner: The App by Julián Merino (Spain)